A Sea of Sunshine

by Cartographer

  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Six panel, full color digipack, with 8-page booklet.

    Photography by Jan Mulders
    Design by Véronique van Helden

    Includes unlimited streaming of A Sea of Sunshine via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 3 days

      €12 EUR or more 


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    The Special Edition package of our album 'A SEA OF SUNSHINE' contains the following:
    - 'A SEA OF SUNSHINE' six panel, full color digipack with 8-page booklet, featuring a handcrafted sleeve with unique 3D-printed lock/ornament. (dark or light grey)
    - Silkscreened poster inspired by the album artwork (aprox. 50x70cm)
    - T-shirt (white or black; please include color and size when ordering)

    Limited to 39 packages in total

    (due to unusual package size, shipping within the EU and to the rest of the world is possible, but costly)

    Includes unlimited streaming of A Sea of Sunshine via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 5 days
    edition of 39  8 remaining

      €32 EUR or more 


  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

    Coverart and digital booklet (w/ words and credits) included in download.
    Purchasable with gift card

      €7 EUR  or more




released September 26, 2014

Drums recorded at Split Second Sound
Guitars recorded at Final Focus Studio
Recorded, engineered and mixed by Desmond Kuijk at Moonbear Music & Engineering
Mastered by Jochem Jacobs at Split Second Sound
Piano on ‘Intro’ recorded by Uri Dijk

Music by YDL except for:
'Revision' by MLR
'We've Come a Long Way' by MLR/YDL
'Satao's Bane' by DK/MLR/YDL

Words by YDL

Photography by Jan Mulders
Artwork and design by Véronique van Helden

We would like to thank the following people for their help, guidance and support:
Jochem Jacobs, Bouke Visser, Sander v. Gelswijck, Yuma v. Eekelen, Bart Hennephof, Nik Linders, Jan Mulders, Véronique v. Helden, Uri Dijk, Roel Verberk, Eric Coenen, Will Maas, Francis v. Dijke and everyone who supports us by listening to and spreading our music, and all of our families and friends.


all rights reserved



Cartographer Tilburg, Netherlands

Cartographer is a five-piece instrumental rockband, from Tilburg, the Netherlands.

Cartographer is:
Yuma van Eekelen - Drums
Desmond Kuijk - Bass
Milan Roerdink - Guitars
Marvin Roerdink - Also guitars
Yoep de Ligt - Also also guitars
... more

contact / help

Contact Cartographer

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Track Name: We've Come a Long Way
And there are too many reasons
for us to be unbreakable
Track Name: …Here's to You
I have seen the true face of man
And the cheerful mask you hide behind
Painted red and blue, and kept ever so clean
to prevent the green from being seen

You think you had it all figured out?
It was for you

It was all for you
Track Name: Satao's Bane
Was that really necessary?
Track Name: A Sea of Sunshine, but None for You
To see the flowers you cannot smell
To hear the laughter from faces you can't tell
To fear the trees, that around you grew
As the final realisation of what we always knew

Our live have always been
A sea of sunshine
But none for you
Track Name: Built with Blood and Fears and Tears
This is the end of my world as you know it
And it's time to build it anew

It will be built with blood and fears and tears
And it will be built on the bones of you
Track Name: 17:04 - Now Yours, Not Ours, Not Mine
These walls are no longer my home
To their laws I no longer abide
These windows will no longer blind my eyes
From the light that you have kept outside

And as I reach to open this door - Now yours, not ours, not mine
I will reach to open the next - Now run, and see me shine

If you like Cartographer, you may also like: